ABCDE Awards in Education for 2018

Mark Button

Terry-Lee Beaudry (centre) named Education Advocate of the Year

Recipients for the 2018 ABCDE Awards in Education have been announced with one of our own receiving the honour.

The Association of BC Deans of Education (ABCDE) presented Terry-Lee Beaudry an award for Education Advocate of the Year. Ms. Beaudry serves as Deputy Superintendent, Central Okanagan S.D. 23, Kelowna. She also serves as an adjunct professor with UBC Okanagan’s Faculty of Education.

Terry-Lee has a long and impressive record of implementing district, provincial, and community initiatives. She is well-known for her exceptional work with First Nations bands, teachers and students. Her passions include early learning, Aboriginal education, parents as partners, youth at risk, teenage mothers, community partnerships, curriculum development, collaborative learning teams, Education law, and leadership development. Terry-Lee is committed to just, inclusive and equitable practices for all students. She possesses excellent skills, a rich depth of experience, and exemplary personal characteristics, all of which contribute to her successful district leadership and to her strong ties with the UBC Okanagan campus.

Each ABCDE award winner receives an engraved plaque and a monetary award.

ABCDE initiated its annual awards program in 2005. Previous winners are listed at