CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) AND UBC’S RESPONSE: Information and FAQs available. Read More.


FACULTY OF EDUCATION UPDATES: Updates from all departments. Read more.

Find People

Looking for a faculty or staff member of the Okanagan School of Education?

OSE Directory

Faculty & Staff Announcements

Each year the Provost recognizes individuals who make a significant impact on the culture of teaching and learning at UBCO.

Congratulations to the 2020 Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award recipient, our very own Professor Karen Ragoonaden!

We also want to thank Dr. Ragoonaden for generously donating her award prize money to the COVID-19 Emergency Student Fund.

Congratulations to Dr. Sabre Cherkowski for receiving the 2020 Researcher of the Year Award, Social Sciences and Humanities.

Cherkowski is a catalyst for sustainable improvement in schools and leadership transformation within educational systems. She is recognized internationally for her innovative research examining the impact of positive learning environments on creating a flourishing effect in schools.

Learn more about Dr. Cherkowski and her research.

Congratulations to Dr. Peter Arthur for receiving a UBCO 2020 Golden Apple Award. The Award recognizes Dr. Arthur’s dedication to fostering instructor-student relationships.

The Golden Apple Awards are a student-led initiative to acknowledge teachers who support the wellbeing of their students in the academic environment.

Committee Membership

  • Wendy Klassen, Chair & Block 2 Leader
  • Robert Campbell, Fine Arts
  • Sabre Cherkowski, Block 1 Leader
  • Scott Douglas, Block 3 Leader
  • Anne MacLean, Field
  • Desiree Marshall-Peer, Block 4 Leader
  • Karen Ragoonaden, Block 5 Leader
  • Jordy Decker, Recorder
  • Sabre Cherkowski, Chair
  • John Tyler Binfet
  • Scott Douglas
  • Chris Martin
  • Karen Ragoonaden
  • Lindsay Cox, Recorder
  • Peter Arthur, Chair
  • Stephen Berg
  • Robert Campbell
  • Rob Johnson
  • Lindsay Cox, Recorder

Faculty Curriculum Chair

Scott Douglas

Conflict of Interest Reviewer

Scott Douglas

Behavioural Research Ethics Board, Departmental Reviewer

Scott Douglas

At Risk Behaviour Policy Committee

Dr. Robert Campbell

Awards Committee – Distinguished Visitor Fund

Dr. Chris Martin

Behavioural Ethics Research Board (ORS)

John Tyler Binfet (applied)

Behavioural Research Ethics Board

Wendy Klassen, Co-Chair

College of Graduate Studies, Program and Curriculum Committee

John Tyler Binfet

Council of Senates

Peter Arthur

Council of Senates Budget Committee

Peter Arthur, Vice-Chair

Council of Senates Executive Committee

Peter Arthur

Dean’s Advisory Committee on Promotion and Tenure, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies

Karen Ragoonaden

Deputy Vice Chancellor Search Committee

Karen Ragoonaden

DVC’s Advisory Committee on Positive Space

John Tyler Binfet

Facilities Committee for Research Space

Karen Ragoonaden

Graduate Program Council

Sabre Cherkowski
John Tyler Binfet

Interdisciplinary Graduate Studies Committee

Sabre Cherkowski

Okanagan Graduate Awards Committee

Chris Martin

ORS Standing Review Committee

Margaret Macintyre Latta

Positive Space Committee

John-Tyler Binfet
Jordy Decker

President’s Advisory Committee on Student Discipline

Greg Wetterstrand

Public Humanities Hub Okanagan – Outreach Task Force

Karen Ragoonaden

Research Advisory Committee

Sabre Cherkowski

Senate Academic Buildings and Resources Committee (Okanagan Campus)

Peter Arthur, Vice-Chair

Senate Admissions and Awards Committee

Greg Wetterstrand

Senate Agenda Committee

Peter Arthur, Chair

Senate Curriculum Committee

Peter Arthur, Chair
Scott Douglas

Senate Learning & Research Committee

Karen Ragoonaden

Senate Nominating Committee

Peter Arthur, Vice-Chair

Senate Policy Sub-Committee

Peter Arthur

Standing and Discipline, Okanagan Senate Sub-Committee

Robert Campbell, Chair

Task Force on Race, Indigeneity & Social Justice

Karen Ragoonaden

UBC Okanagan Gathering Space/Outdoor Classroom Committee

Robert Campbell

UBC Okanagan Senate

Greg Wetterstrand
Robert Campbell

UBC Okanagan Senate, Joint Faculty Representative

Karen Ragoonaden
Peter Arthur

UBC Student Evaluation of Teaching Working Group

Peter Arthur, Co-Chair

SD23 Joint New Teacher Network Steering Committee

Wendy Klassen

BCCampus Advisory Committee

Peter Arthur