Contact & People

Mailing address

Okanagan School of Education
The University of British Columbia
EME Tower 1, 3rd Floor (Engineering, Management & Education Building)
1137 Alumni Ave.
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7

General Inquiries and Undergraduate Programs:

Office: EME 3121
Phone: 250.807.9176
Fax: 250.807.8084
Email: education.ubco@ubc.ca

Post-Baccalaureate and Graduate Education Programs (MEd, MA,PhD):

Office: EME 3119
Phone: 250.807.8203
Fax: 250.807.8084
Email: postbac.education@ubc.ca

meet our leadership team

Location:


Role:
Centre/Research Program:
Search Keyword:

Peter Arthur | Professor of Teaching | Education | peter.arthur@ubc.ca | 250-807-9207 | EME 3149

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Teaching and Learning in Higher Education; Metacognition; Growth Mindset and Grit for Academic Success; Curriculum & Program Development; Instructional Design; Enhancing Learning with Technology.
Terry Beaudry | Adjunct Professor | Education | terry.beaudry@ubc.ca
Stephen Berg | Associate Professor | Education | stephen.berg@ubc.ca | 250.807.9682 | EME 3169

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Physical Education; Health Education; Early Learning; Preservice Teacher Education; Children's Physical Activity; Action Research.
John-Tyler Binfet | Associate Professor | B.A.R.K., Education | johntyler.binfet@ubc.ca | 250.807.8420 | EME 3173

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Conceptualizations of kindness in children and adolescents; Measuring kindness in schools; Social and Emotional Learning; Canine-assisted interventions; Assessment of therapy dogs; University student well-being
Courses & Teaching: Research Methods Social and Emotional Learning Child and Adolescent Development
Lynn Bosetti | Professor (on leave) | Centre for Mindful Engagement, Innovative Learning Centre (ILC), smartEducation | lynn.bosetti@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Educational Policy and Leadership Studies
Catherine Broom | Associate Professor (on leave) | Education | catherine.broom@ubc.ca | 250.807.8768 | EME3167

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Social Studies Methods; History Education; History of Education and Curriculum; Ecological Education; Culture and Education; Alternative and Holistic Educational Practices.
Andrew Calhoun | Academic Advisor | Education | andrew.calhoun@ubc.ca | 250.807.9262 | UBC207
Robert Campbell | Associate Professor | Education | robert.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9170 | EME3175

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Educational Technology; Instructional Design; Curriculum Development; Technology Innovation; Integration.
Sabre Cherkowski | Associate Professor | Education | sabre.cherkowski@ubc.ca | 250.807.9306 | EME3171

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Organizational well-being; mindful leadership; teacher leadership; professional development; learning communities; reflective practice; moral agency
Courses & Teaching: Educational leadership; Diversity and Inclusion in Education
Lindsay Cox | Assistant to Graduate, Professional Development and Summer Institute in Education | Education | lindsay.cox@ubc.ca | 250.807.8203 | EME3119
Scott Douglas | Associate Professor | Education | scott.douglas@ubc.ca | 250.807.9277 | EME3151

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Teaching English as an Additional Language (TEAL); Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL); Applied Linguistics; English Language Teaching (ELT); Curriculum and Materials Design; English for Academic Purposes (EAP); English Language Learning (ELL); Short-Term Study Abroad
Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses EDUC 407 Concept Studies Module 1—Developing Instructional Strategies ESL/FSL EDUC 436 Developing Curricular Vision for a Democratic Society EDUC 459 ESL in Secondary Education Post-Baccalaureate Courses LLED 494 Introduction to Additional Language Teaching and Learning LLED 495 Curriculum and Materials Design in Additional Language Teaching and Learning LLED 496 Theory and Practice in Additional Language Teaching and Learning Graduate Courses EDUC 560 Directed Studies in Education: TESOL Inquiry IGS 620 Advanced Topics in Interdisciplinary Studies: TESOL Frameworks EDUC 524 Language Teaching and Learning
Blye Frank | Education | dean.educ@ubc.ca | 604.822.2049 | Scarfe 2612, UBC Vancouver Campus
Robert Johnson | Associate Professor | Education | rob.johnson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8426 | EME3165
Research Interests: Motor Learning; Physical Education; Curriculum & Program Development; Health Education; Preservice Teacher Education
Wendy Klassen | Associate Professor | Education | wendy.klassen@ubc.ca | 250.807.8106 | EME3101

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Mathematics Education; Problem Solving; Critical Thinking; Teaching and Learning; Assessment; Mentoring and Reciprocal Learning Teams.
Amanda Lamberti | Communications Specialist | Education | amanda.lamberti@ubc.ca | EME3123
Margaret Macintyre Latta | Professor | Education | margaret.macintyre.latta@ubc.ca | 250.807.8119 | EME3139

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Fostering Pedagogical Relationships, Seeing and Acting on Innovation’s Renewing Potential—The Fecundity of Genuine Learning Contexts, Curriculum as Lived in Classrooms, Teacher Education and Professional Development Reform Efforts.
Anne MacLean | Lecturer | Education | anne.e.maclean@ubc.ca | 250.807.9508 | EME3113
Research Interests: Research and Teaching Areas; Instructional Design; Differentiation; Content Literacy; Teacher Induction; Mentoring.
Desiree Marshall-Peer | Lecturer | Education | desiree.marshall-peer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8654 | EME3157
Research Interests: Aboriginal perspectives and representation; Inquiry teaching and learning; Competency-based assessment and STEAM.
Christopher Martin | Associate Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science, Education, Management, Philosophy | christopher.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.8427 | EME3159

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Philosophy of education; Educational policy; Moral education; Moral and political philosophy; Critical theory; the humanities in medical education; Ethics education.
Courses & Teaching: (Undergraduate) The Culture of the School: The School as an Ethical Environment ; (Graduate) Readings and Discourse in Education; Mindfulness as an Aim of Education; Leadership for Inclusion and Social Justice: What is Educational Justice?
Karen Ragoonaden | Professor of Teaching | Centre for Mindful Engagement, smartEducation | karen.ragoonaden@ubc.ca | 250.807.8113 | EME3145

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Mindfulness and Well-Being, Conceptions of Teaching and Learning, Culturally Responsive Pedagogy, Indigenous Education.
Kristin Schuppener | OSE Administrator | Education | kristin.schuppener@ubc.ca | 250.807.8120 | EME3131
Karen Switzer | Lecturer | Education | karen.switzer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8571 | EME3153
Research Interests: Literacy Coaching as a Tool for Professional Development; Differentiated Instruction; Quality Instructional and Assessment Practices.
Courses & Teaching: Courses in the Post Bac Program, Summer Institute in Education and in the Master's Program
Greg Wetterstrand | Associate Professor | Education | greg.wetterstrand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8110 | EME3147

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Educational drama, curriculum theory, social and cultural issues, health and career education, and drama in English language arts education.
Courses & Teaching: Educational Drama, Curriculum Theory, Social and Cultural Issues, Health and Career Education, Drama in English Language Arts Education, and courses in the Summer Institute.