Contact & People

Mailing address

Okanagan School of Education
The University of British Columbia
EME Tower 1, 3rd Floor (Engineering, Management & Education Building)
1137 Alumni Ave.
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7

General Inquiries and Undergraduate Programs:

Office: EME 3121
Phone: 250.807.9176
Fax: 250.807.8084
Email: education.ubco@ubc.ca

Post-Baccalaureate and Graduate Education Programs (MEd, MA,PhD):

Office: EME 3119
Phone: 250.807.8203
Fax: 250.807.8084
Email: postbac.ubco@ubc.ca

meet our leadership team

Location:


Role:
Centre/Research Program:
Search Keyword:

Peter Arthur | Professor of Teaching | Education | peter.arthur@ubc.ca | 250-807-9207

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Teaching and Learning in Higher Education; Metacognition; Growth Mindset and Grit for Academic Success; Curriculum & Program Development; Instructional Design; Enhancing Learning with Technology.
Terry Beaudry | Adjunct Professor | Education | terry.beaudry@ubc.ca
Stephen Berg | Associate Professor | Education | stephen.berg@ubc.ca | 250.807.9682

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Physical Education; Health Education; Early Learning; Preservice Teacher Education; Children's Physical Activity; Action Research.
John-Tyler Binfet | Associate Professor | B.A.R.K. | johntyler.binfet@ubc.ca | 250.807.8420

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Conceptualizations of kindness in children and adolescents; Measuring kindness in schools; Social and Emotional Learning; Canine-assisted interventions; Assessment of therapy dogs; University student well-being
Courses & Teaching: Research Methods Social and Emotional Learning Child and Adolescent Development
Lynn Bosetti | Professor (on leave) | Innovative Learning Centre (ILC), Centre for Mindful Engagement, smartEducation | lynn.bosetti@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Educational Policy and Leadership Studies
Catherine Broom | Associate Professor (on leave) | Education | catherine.broom@ubc.ca | 250.807.8768
Research Interests: Social Studies Methods; History Education; History of Education and Curriculum; Ecological Education; Culture and Education; Alternative and Holistic Educational Practices.
Andrew Calhoun | Academic Advisor | Education | andrew.calhoun@ubc.ca | 250.807.9262
Robert Campbell | Associate Professor | Education | robert.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9170

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Educational Technology; Instructional Design; Curriculum Development; Technology Innovation; Integration.
Sabre Cherkowski | Associate Professor | Education | sabre.cherkowski@ubc.ca | 250.807.9306

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Organizational well-being; mindful leadership; teacher leadership; professional development; learning communities; reflective practice; moral agency
Courses & Teaching: Educational leadership; Diversity and Inclusion in Education
Lindsay Cox | Assistant to Graduate, Professional Development and Summer Institute in Education | Education | lindsay.cox@ubc.ca | 250.807.8203
Scott Douglas | Associate Professor | Education | scott.douglas@ubc.ca | 250.807.9277

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Teaching English as an Additional Language (TEAL); Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL); Applied Linguistics; English Language Teaching (ELT); Curriculum and Materials Design; English for Academic Purposes (EAP); English Language Learning (ELL); Short-Term Study Abroad
Courses & Teaching: Undergraduate Courses EDUC 407 Concept Studies Module 1—Developing Instructional Strategies ESL/FSL EDUC 436 Developing Curricular Vision for a Democratic Society: Educational Purposes, Policies, and Practices, Part 1 EDUC 459 ESL in Secondary Education Post-Baccalaureate Courses LLED 494 (3) Introduction to Additional Language Teaching and Learning LLED 495 (3) Curriculum and Materials Design in Additional Language Teaching and Learning LLED 496 (3) Theory and Practice in Additional Language Teaching and Learning Graduate Courses EDUC 521 Readings and Discourse in Education EDUC 524 Language Teaching and Learning
Blye Frank | Education | dean.educ@ubc.ca | 604.822.2049
Robert Johnson | Associate Professor | Education | rob.johnson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8426
Research Interests: Motor Learning; Physical Education; Curriculum & Program Development; Health Education; Preservice Teacher Education
Wendy Klassen | Associate Professor | Education | wendy.klassen@ubc.ca | 250.807.8106

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Mathematics Education; Problem Solving; Critical Thinking; Teaching and Learning; Assessment; Mentoring and Reciprocal Learning Teams.
Amanda Lamberti | Communications Specialist | Education | amanda.lamberti@ubc.ca
Margaret Macintyre Latta | Professor | Education | margaret.macintyre.latta@ubc.ca | 250.807.8119

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Fostering Pedagogical Relationships, Seeing and Acting on Innovation’s Renewing Potential—The Fecundity of Genuine Learning Contexts, Curriculum as Lived in Classrooms, Teacher Education and Professional Development Reform Efforts.
Anne MacLean | Lecturer | Education | anne.e.maclean@ubc.ca | 250.807.9508
Research Interests: Research and Teaching Areas; Instructional Design; Differentiation; Content Literacy; Teacher Induction; Mentoring.
Christopher Martin | Associate Professor | Economics, Philosophy and Political Science, Education, Management, Philosophy | christopher.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.8427

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Philosophy of education; Educational policy; Moral education; Moral and political philosophy; Critical theory; the humanities in medical education; Ethics education.
Courses & Teaching: (Undergraduate) The Culture of the School: The School as an Ethical Environment ; (Graduate) Readings and Discourse in Education; Mindfulness as an Aim of Education; Leadership for Inclusion and Social Justice: What is Educational Justice?
Karen Ragoonaden | Associate Professor | Centre for Mindful Engagement, smartEducation | karen.ragoonaden@ubc.ca | 250.807.8113

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Mindfulness and Well-Being, Conceptions of Teaching and Learning, Culturally Responsive Pedagogy, Indigenous Education.
Kristin Schuppener | OSE Administrator | Education | kristin.schuppener@ubc.ca | 250.807.8120
Karen Switzer | Lecturer | Education | karen.switzer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8571
Research Interests: Literacy Coaching as a Tool for Professional Development; Differentiated Instruction; Quality Instructional and Assessment Practices.
Greg Wetterstrand | Associate Professor | Education | greg.wetterstrand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8110

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Educational drama, curriculum theory, social and cultural issues, health and career education, and drama in English language arts education.
Courses & Teaching: Educational Drama, Curriculum Theory, Social and Cultural Issues, Health and Career Education, Drama in English Language Arts Education, and courses in the Summer Institute.