Contact & People

Mailing address

Okanagan School of Education
The University of British Columbia
EME Tower 1, 3rd Floor (Engineering, Management & Education Building)
1137 Alumni Ave.
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7

General Inquiries and Undergraduate Programs:

Office: EME 3121
Phone: 250.807.9176
Fax: 250.807.8084
Email: education.ubco@ubc.ca

Post-Baccalaureate and Graduate Education Programs (MEd, MA,PhD):

Office: EME 3119
Phone: 250.807.8203
Fax: 250.807.8084
Email: postbac.ubco@ubc.ca

meet our leadership team

Location:


Role:
Centre/Research Program:
Search Keyword:

Peter Arthur | Professor of Teaching | peter.arthur@ubc.ca | 250-807-9207

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Teaching and Learning in Higher Education; Metacognition; Growth Mindset and Grit for Academic Success; Curriculum & Program Development; Instructional Design; Enhancing Learning with Technology.
Stephen Berg | Associate Professor | stephen.berg@ubc.ca | 250.807.9682

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Physical Education; Health Education; Early Learning; Preservice Teacher Education; Children's Physical Activity; Action Research.
John-Tyler Binfet | Associate Professor | B.A.R.K. | johntyler.binfet@ubc.ca | 250.807.8420

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Conceptualizations of kindness in children and adolescents; Measuring kindness in schools; Social and Emotional Learning; Canine-assisted interventions; Assessment of therapy dogs; University student well-being
Courses & Teaching: Research Methods Social and Emotional Learning Child and Adolescent Development
Lynn Bosetti | Professor (on leave) | Innovative Learning Centre (ILC), Centre for Mindful Engagement, smartEducation | lynn.bosetti@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Educational Policy and Leadership Studies
Catherine Broom | Associate Professor (on leave) | catherine.broom@ubc.ca | 250.807.8768

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Social Studies Methods; History Education; History of Education and Curriculum; Ecological Education; Culture and Education; Alternative and Holistic Educational Practices.
Andrew Calhoun | Academic Advisor | andrew.calhoun@ubc.ca | 250.807.9262
Robert Campbell | Associate Professor | robert.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9170

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Educational Technology; Instructional Design; Curriculum Development; Technology Innovation; Integration.
Sabre Cherkowski | Associate Professor | sabre.cherkowski@ubc.ca | 250.807.9306

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Organizational well-being; mindful leadership; teacher leadership; professional development; learning communities; reflective practice; moral agency
Courses & Teaching: Educational leadership; Dversity and Inclusion in Education
Lindsay Cox | Assistant to Graduate, Professional Development and Summer Institute in Education | lindsay.cox@ubc.ca | 250.807.8203
Scott Douglas | Associate Professor | scott.douglas@ubc.ca | 250.807.9277

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Teaching English as an Additional Language (TEAL); Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL); Applied Linguistics; English Language Teaching (ELT); Curriculum and Materials Design; English for Academic Purposes (EAP); Professional Development; Testing.
Blye Frank | dean.educ@ubc.ca | 604.822.2049
Robert Johnson | Associate Professor | rob.johnson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8426
Research Interests: Motor Learning; Physical Education; Curriculum & Program Development; Health Education; Preservice Teacher Education
Wendy Klassen | Associate Professor | wendy.klassen@ubc.ca | 250.807.8106

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Mathematics Education; Problem Solving; Critical Thinking; Teaching and Learning; Assessment; Mentoring and Reciprocal Learning Teams.
Amanda Lamberti | Communications Specialist | amanda.lamberti@ubc.ca
Margaret Macintyre Latta | Professor | margaret.macintyre.latta@ubc.ca | 250.807.8119

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Fostering Pedagogical Relationships, Seeing and Acting on Innovation’s Renewing Potential—The Fecundity of Genuine Learning Contexts, Curriculum as Lived in Classrooms, Teacher Education and Professional Development Reform Efforts.
Anne MacLean | Lecturer | anne.e.maclean@ubc.ca | 250.807.9508
Research Interests: Research and Teaching Areas; Instructional Design; Differentiation; Content Literacy; Teacher Induction; Mentoring.
Christopher Martin | Associate Professor | Centre for Mindful Engagement | christopher.martin@ubc.ca | 250.807.8427

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Philosophy of education; Educational policy; Moral education; Moral and political philosophy; Critical theory; the humanities in medical education; Ethics education.
Courses & Teaching: (Undergraduate) The Culture of the School: The School as an Ethical Environment ; (Graduate) Readings and Discourse in Education; Mindfulness as an Aim of Education; Leadership for Inclusion and Social Justice: What is Educational Justice?
Karen Ragoonaden | Associate Professor | Centre for Mindful Engagement, smartEducation | karen.ragoonaden@ubc.ca | 250.807.8113

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Mindfulness and Well-Being, Conceptions of Teaching and Learning, Culturally Responsive Pedagogy, Indigenous Education.
Pamela Rose-Manassian | Undergraduate Programs and School Experience Assistant | pamela.rose-manassian@ubc.ca | 250.807.9459
Kristin Schuppener | OSE Administrator | kristin.schuppener@ubc.ca | 250.807.8120
Karen Switzer | Lecturer | karen.switzer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8571
Research Interests: Literacy Coaching as a Tool for Professional Development; Differentiated Instruction; Quality Instructional and Assessment Practices.
Greg Wetterstrand | Associate Professor | greg.wetterstrand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8110

Currently accepting graduate supervision requests


Research Interests: Educational drama, curriculum theory, social and cultural issues, health and career education, and drama in English language arts education.
Courses & Teaching: Educational Drama, Curriculum Theory, Social and Cultural Issues, Health and Career Education, Drama in English Language Arts Education, and courses in the Summer Institute.